Friday, July 23, 2010

The Beauty of the Virtual...

So... The Cookie Monster (my boyfriend) has a PS3. This is mindblowingly awesome. He plays games on it - on his profile - which I love to watch, and I use it to watch DVDs, listen to music and play on the virtual world PS Home - on my profile. My profile, for the record, contains no games and no collectible info. It's pretty much clean.

Our all time favourite game of the moment - yes, it's an oxymoron - is God of War III. I love watching CM play. And I help in my supportive way. Sure, the game is extraordinarily violent and graphic, but it's also a fun thing to do together. I like watching PC games, too, including Dragon Age, Sacred, Divinity... I'm loving Divinity right now and Dragon Age was a LOT of fun. Thinking of getting the PS version... Anyway, I digress.

So... I mess around on PS Home, I like God of War and I'm not a typical girly girl, but I do like playing dress-up with avatars. But I'm also not into virtual worlds to such an extent that I gave much thought to my screen name and when I found my choice taken, I just added Queen to the back of it as the name refers to a mythological queen. You know, instead of adding my birth date or my bank pin or my bf's telephone number (all of which seem popular).

And then I went exploring. Mostly I looked at shops and ran screaming from anyone who tried talking to me. There were some fun moments. My avatar got hit on by others, I met some weird guy who seemed to be on some serious dope, considering his conversation, I was taught nifty tricks by another user. Just innocent chatting to people type stuff. Until last night...

Recently Home has been updated, so last night I did the downloads and went to check it out. And I met Liam-C-1986. Ah, Little Liam, as I shall now affectionately call my educational experience...

There I (well, my avatar) was, all dressed up in my new outfit and my new hairstyle, fresh from the tanning salon (I was awake and VERY bored), minding my own business when Little Liam approaches. I'd love to be able to copy & paste the whole conversation, but I haven't figured out how.

It started with "Girls with queen in their name are usually men". (He's typing with his controller, so that took a while...) Fair enough, I hadn't thought of the gay connotation to queen, I'm just that naive. Then it goes "Are you a guy" "No, not last I checked" Now, for the kicker, he goes and inspects my whole profile and finds that I have Kratos (GoW's angry hero) as my profile pic. (There are various pics to choose from, all generic, and you can't make your own. I really like GoW) This is irrefutable evidence to him that I am male. This and the fact my avatar is dressed in a plaid mini.

I try to explain my fondness of GoW to him, but he has noticed that it doesn't appear under Games on my profile - shocker, since there are no games there - and he accuses me of lying about liking the game. Which, of course, as a guy trying to convince a boy that I'm a girl, I have loads of reason to do, it is only one of the most macho games out there... My attempts at reasoning fail. Little Liam is too busy trying to type a few paragraphs on his PS controller to notice that I've spoken.

He has now decided beyond any doubt that I am gay. When asked why he bothered approaching me then, he tells me "Because I like laughing at poufs, you're a joke". I'm a little confused. The only one who's been laughing is me. Liam has mostly been cussing. Now Liam informs me that gays are unnatural and should be raped by fat women and then killed by drowning. I'm starting to be a little offended - I have gay friends and I'm a woman, so being told someone deserves to be raped, grates. Then, though I have not moved since before Liam approached me, he tells me to "F*** off" completely out of the blue. I am now very offended and confused.

But Liam finally leaves and goes to chat to another female avatar. She's wearing the same top I am, but she has pants on, so apparently she really is female. Her name is GlitterFace_luv. He tries hitting on her, but soon there is a crowd (You can follow conversations by everyone in your immediate vicinity) and Little Liam becomes abusive, even to the girl he was hitting on. There's a LOT of cussing and rather crude graphics.

Then Liam announces his virginity, rather proudly, accusing the rest of Liverpool of being "slags".(I'd been talking to someone else and missed what lead up to THAT little tidbit) But soon he's tearing into a Spanish guy dressed as a Clone, accusing him of being a virgin, because he actually bought an outfit and is on Home in the middle of the night. Now I'm seriously confused, but have realised that Liam is really just an angry little boy who lives with his mom, doesn't have the money to buy stuff on Home (I don't either, but I don't mind), can't get a girlfriend (even a fat one, no offense to anyone) and was rejected from the local chapter of the Skinheads.

My mind is reeling, I'm finally sleepy and the guy who's been trying to hit on my avatar gives up. I can now politely withdraw and go to bed. But, oh, the things I have learned this night. And Little Liam... You will forever be in the back of my mind as I wander through Home...

Really, I just wanted to rant about one boy's stupidity. Seriously? Raped and drowned?

No comments:

Post a Comment